Emmy Statue

Board of Governors

Our Board of Governors is comprised of members of the industry (television, new media, broadcast, cable, education, and related fields) who are committed to furthering the interests of the Heartland Chapter and the Emmy Awards. These dedicated professionals live and work primarily in the Denver metro area, and include three regional vice presidents from other DMAs: two from Oklahoma City and one from Wichita. The board meets monthly on the second Tuesday at Rocky Mountain PBS in Denver.

According to the Chapter By-laws, Denver television stations appoint representatives to the board. The other board members are allied representatives, not affiliated with a traditional television station, who are elected by the allied chapter membership to a 3-year term.

Officers to the board are elected by the board, and serve a 2-year term. Our chapter’s trustees are part of the governing body of the National NATAS organization.

The board is here to serve you; feel free to contact any one of our governors to share your feedback.

The Heartland Chapter consists of 12 DMAs in five states: Denver, Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Wichita/Hutchinson, Omaha, Colorado Springs/Pueblo, Lincoln/Hastings-Kearney, Topeka, Grand Junction/Montrose, Cheyenne/Scottsbluff, Casper/Riverton, Durango and North Platte. The Board meets monthly to process the business of the chapter; its membership consists of representatives from all areas of broadcast, media, production and education – in Denver, Oklahoma City and Wichita – both affiliated and independent. They are proud to represent the 700 members of our chapter, and encourage you to contact them at any time.

Executive Committee
President: Blaine Howerton, YGHDtv Denver
1st VP: Carolyn Richards, Marblehead Productions Denver
2nd VP: Paul Drexler, 4D Solutions Denver
Secretary: Caitlin Kingsbury, KUSA Denver
Treasurer: Traci Bilek, Independent
National Trustees:
Misty Montano, KUSA Denver
Carl Bilek, KMGH Denver
Blaine Howerton, YGHDtv Denver
Julie Lucas, MSU

Board Members
Leslie Dodson, ATLAS Institute
Mike Wallace, KMTV Omaha
Bill Perry, OETA Oklahoma City
Julie Lucas, Metropolitan Statue University Denver
Steve Replin, Replin Law Group Denver

Affiliate Reps to the Board
Misty Montano, KUSA
Paula Roth, KBDI
Maria Mansilla, KCNC

Committee Chairs:
Awards: Carolyn Richards
Programs: Paul Drexler
Education/Sponsorship: Paula Roth
Silver Circle: Carl Bilek
Scholarship: Julie Lucas