Emmy Statue


About the National Academy and the Heartland Chapter

Founded in 1947, the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) and the Emmy Award stand for the best in the television industry. The National Academy is the only non-profit organization dedicated to recognizing outstanding achievement, raising industry standards, and improving the quality of television. Its dedication to excellence is pursued every day by members of its 19 chapters across the country. The Heartland chapter was formed in 1986 after an intense effort to meet the high eligibility standards of the National Academy’s national board, and serves the television industry in these markets/DMAs: Denver, Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Wichita/Hutchinson, Omaha, Colorado Springs/Pueblo, Lincoln/Hastings-Kearney, Topeka, Grand Junction/Montrose, Cheyenne/Scottsbluff, Casper/Riverton and North Platte.

Production Resources

Production resources for members of the television community impacted by COVID-19. NATAS has gathered a list of resources for production/freelance workers. This list will grow as we continue to source additional information.

What is Television?

Television is no longer defined by a box that resides in the family living room. Television is happening everywhere we go. The Heartland Emmy® Chapter honors original content created for traditional broadcast/cablecast mediums as well as non-traditional and emerging platforms for broadband and portable delivery. Television is ‘moving pictures on a screen.’  If you are a producer (no matter your craft discipline) of original material intended for a Heartland audience, then this is your home for television excellence.

Board of Governors Elections

Thanks to our voting membership for filling three open spots on our Board of Governors with three outstanding people:  Juliana Broste and Julie Lucas were re-elected, while Lucas Ross is new to the board – but not new to our chapter. He’s a regional Emmy® award recipient, veteran of local Oklahoma City television, talented banjo player and a key component of our annual awards galas. Juliana you know as @travelingjules and as our 2nd VP, Program Chair and Trustee, and the estimable Julie Lucas is involved as a Trustee and as the National Secretary. Each elected board member serves a three-year term and is eligible to be re-elected twice.